Woodleigh stay unbeaten in premier cricket

Woodleigh stay unbeaten in premier cricket

13 Nov 2017

Competition leaders Woodleigh remain unbeaten in the Taranaki premier one-day cricket competition after they beat New Plymouth Boys' High School in a low scoring match at Sutherland Park on Saturday. The win, based largely around the bowling efforts of Simon Bird and Andrew Mason, guarantees Woodleigh a home semifinal with a round to play. Bird was exceptionally accurate, taking 6-13 from his 10 overs as the Boys' High batsmen struggled to muster a defendable total as they were bowled out for just 69. While Woodleigh lost five wickets in their chase, they were always doing it comfortably with two late wickets making the match look closer than it actually was.

Two other matches were also low scoring.

New Plymouth Old Boys only managed to score 105 at Western Park against Stratford with former Taranaki batsman Kent Jordan top-scoring with an unbeaten 29. Old Boys must have gone to the break thinking they would struggle to defend the total but those thoughts would have been quickly dismissed once Stratford went out to bat. While a couple in the top order got starts, their lower order really struggled as their last seven batsmen could only manage four runs between them as Temapare Hodson took 4-7 and Davis Mills 3-6.

Francis Douglas Memorial College could not even get to post three figures on their scoreboard against New Plymouth Marist United at Lynmouth Park as they were bowled out for just 91 as Daniel Bernet took 4-16. Marist United made hard work of the modest target, however, as they got through to the total losing six wickets. Matt Allen had a good all-round game for the school side, scoring 46 and taking three wickets.

The best match of the round was played in Hawera where the home side edged Inglewood by five runs to remain in second place on the table. Batting first, Hawera United posted 246-3 with Nick Walker (51), Reid Mawdsley (73) and Ngoni Mupamba (51no) the main contributors. Inglewood gave the run chase a real shake with Bailey Wisnewski (89) and Matt Simpson (92no) the best of their batsmen.              

New Plymouth Boys' High School 69 (B Frewin 22; S Bird 6-13, A Mason 4-21`) lost to Woodleigh 70-5 (J Quinney 23, N Standen 24no; Z Betteridge 2-9, R Gilmour 2-10 by five wickets.

Hawera United 246-3 (N Walker 51, R Northcott 27, R Mawdsley 73, N Mupamba 51no, A Keene 36) beat Inglewood 241-5 (B Wisnewski 89, L Dravitzki 20, M Simpson 92no, B Stevens 29; E Keller 3-47, D Keller 2-56) by five runs.

New Plymouth Old Boys 105 (J Watkins 24, K Jordan 29no; G Commerford 3-25, J Fevre 4-26, L Gould 2-10) beat Stratford 55 (Watkins 2-20, D Mills 3-6, T Hodson 4-7) by 50 runs.

Francis Douglas Memorial College 91 (M Allen 46; T Erwood 2-20, M Blanks 2-25, D Bernet 4-16) lost to New Plymouth Marist United 97-6 (B Hitchcock 43; Allen 3-26) by four wickets.