Women's Representative Season Begins

The Taranaki woman’s team kicks off the representative season this weekend as they embark on their Mike Shrimpton Trophy campaign.  The Taranaki team will look to go one better than last year as they were narrowly pipped by Manawatu for the title.


Round one will see them travel to Wanganui to take on their Hawkes Bay counterparts.  Even though Taranaki find themselves with a number of players unavailable this weekend they will start favourites for the game.  They welcome some experience back into their squad with Kate Baxter returning to the province after her OE and the CD Hinds representative should add some depth to the batting and bowling units and will captain the side, Natalie Dodd has decided to play her cricket for the CD Hinds this season and Taranaki will benefit from her playing amongst the side even though she is unavailable this weekend.


The full team for this week is:  Aimee Watkins (player/coach), Aimee Wisnewski, Emily Cunningham, Kate Baxter (c), Taila Hurley, Jordan Bolger, Mel Megaw, Lucy Mitchell, Lydia Proffit, Nelley Chapman, Caitlin O’Sullivan.


The game is scheduled to start at 11am on Sunday, scoring can be found via Taranaki Cricket's Facebook page.