Revital Taranaki finish fourth at Chapple Cup

Revital Taranaki finish fourth at Chapple Cup

15 Oct 2017

Two heavy defeats on the last two days has seen Revital Fertilisers Taranaki finish fourth at the annual Chapple Cup cricket tournament in Napier. Having beaten Marlborough comfortably on day one, Kaylum Boshier scoring 106 his first century for Taranaki and Liam Muggeridge with 95. Taranaki faced Manawatu in a semifinal on Saturday. Thoughts that the two sides would be fairly even were dispelled after Manawatu batted first and racked up a massive 345-5 from their 50 overs.

Central Districts keeper Dane Cleaver was the main man of the innings as he came in in the middle order to smash 177 from just 110 balls, his innings containing 11 fours and an impressive eight sixes as Taranaki's bowlers failed to contain his power hitting. Cleaver got plenty of support from Mitch Renwick who made 78. None of the Taranaki bowlers covered themselves in any glory, Tom McDougall the best of them with 3-66. Facing an imposing run rate from the outset, it was imperative they started well. They did the complete opposite, falling to 10-3 and then 20-5 as they faced a humiliating loss.

While the margin of defeat was considerable, it could have been so much worse had captain Icon Sports Bar & Cafe Mattie Thomas not struck 56 batting at No 10 while No 9 partner Energy City Ford Ryan Watson made 36 as Taranaki got through to a semi respectable 177. Needing to pick themselves up on Sunday, Taranaki faced Nelson in the play-off for third. Batting first, Nelson made 240 with Tom Cross making 82 of them. The bowling was at least improved from the previous day with Watson taking 3-56 and Thomas 3-52. Taranaki's run chase again started poorly and they struggled for momentum with Josh Borrell making 33 and Phil Barraclough unbeaten on 38 batting at No 8. Their total could have been a lot less had No 11 batsman Aaron Taylor not chimed in with 22.

Manawatu 345-5 (M Hughes 28, M Renwick 78, D Cleaver 173, B Small 30no; T McDougall 3-66) beat Taranaki 177 (K Boshier 20, S Sullivan 31, R Watson 36, M Thomas 56; N Patel 4-24, R Toole 3-16) by 168 runs.

Nelson 240 (T Ingram 30, M Thelin 41, W Ludick 23, T Cross 82; R Watson 3-56, M Thomas 3-52, M Hartmann 2-41) beat Taranaki 164 (J Borrell 33, L Muggeridge 21, P Barraclough 38, A Taylor 22; E Jones 3-17) by 76 runs.